Facebook Twitter Youtube E-Mail

Arts and Culture

Book on Jesse Robredo released

Bicol Mail

ALMOST everyone in Naga has a Robredo story to share.

A book entitled Jess Robredo Proud Nagueño Memories has compiled some of these stories to draw an up-close-and-personal picture of what Jess was to the people of Naga City, “whom he was proud of, whom he served well, whom he loved, and who loved him in return.”

The book will be launched on Saturday, December 8, 2012, at the Fernando Hall, Ateneo de Naga University, 3:30-6  p.m.

Compiler-editors Doods and Sol Santos initially planned a festschrift, which in academe is a collection of articles compiled as a tribute to a well-loved mentor.  Anvil Publishing Manager Karina Bolasco however requested a virtual scrapbook instead, to be submitted within September. It took the Santos couple a week or two to do the interviews, gather articles, and put them together with the help of poet/graphic designer Vic Nierva.

“We believe this presents a fair, if not good, Nagueño perspective of Jess,” the editors state. “This is not a definitive biography of Jess. But it provides many leads for a more deeply and lengthily researched work of that sort. In the meantime, let this be just another of the Nagueños’ resounding and extended celebration of the life, even as they mourn for the passing, of a most beloved son, brother, friend, classmate, co-worker, leader, and father.”

The launch is open to the public.  The book will be sold at all National Book Store, Powerbooks, and Bestsellers branches nationwide.

PhilPOP sets stage for next year’s songwriting contest

Bicol Mail

THE PhilPop MusicFest Foundation, Inc. (PMFI) is now setting the stage this early for the 2013 Philippine Popular Music Festival (PhilPOP).

With the resounding success of the July 2012 pop music festival, the Foundation is hoping to be able to propel the growth of the Filipino pop music with budding and contemporary songwriters joining next year’s event.

In an interview, PMFI Executive Director Ryan Cayabyab said that the July 2012 event allowed the Foundation to register nearly 3,000 song entries; a good number of them came from nearly a hundred cities abroad.

He said the competition has given way to 14 brilliant songwriter-contestants to be a part of an album, which is “on its way of achieving platinum record sales.”

The foundation, Cayabyab said, aims to revive the nation’s love for Filipino music.  “That’s the reason why there’s a definite need to push a giant undertaking like the PhilPOP in order to remind people where our music would and should be headed,” he said.

The PMFI’s event was specifically produced to shed light on deserving songwriters who can inspire and spark positive change through their masterpieces.

The search is open to all excellent Filipino musical composers, here or abroad, who can showcase musical ingenuity and passion.  Interested individuals can start sending their original song entries by January 1 until the end of February 2013 through www.philpop.com.ph

Meanwhile, Cayabyab said he was delighted over the modest turn out of attendees at the songwriting workshop held at the Naga City People’s Hall last November 24, 2012.

Dubbed Songwriting with Maestro Ryan Cayabyab (Naga leg), the activity attracted hundreds of music enthusiasts from Camarines Sur and nearby provinces to an interactive learning experience.

A movie for a cause

Bicol Mail

The movie, “Miracle of Fatima, the 13th day, a story of hope,”  will be shown at SM Cinema 2 here from Dec. 5 to 11, this year. The movie, based on the diary of Sister Lucia, is about the apparitions of the Blessed Virgin Mary to the three shepherd children: Lucia, Francisco, and Jacinta.

Directed by Dominic and Jan Higgins and endorsed by the Catholic Bishops Conference off the Philippines, it is a story of faith and devotion that will surely touch the hearts of people to be strong in Faith.

It is a quality movie recognized in the FAJR International Film Festival 2010, New York Film Festivals in 2010, and the JPII International Film Festival 2009.

It is being brought here by the Lay Apostolic of Jesus Christ the Returning King (LARK), a prayer group led by Cherry T. Lo, with Rev. Fr. Albert Balderas, Parish Priest of San Lorenzo Ruiz de Manila Parish, Barangay Abella, Naga City, as the group’s director.

Proceeds of the special movie showing will finance the Hapag-Asa Program, which is co-managed by Assisi Development Foundation, Inc., and the construction of the San Lorenzo de Manila Parish Church.

LARK will undertake the feeding program of malnourished children, aged 0-12 years, with fortified  vitamins and minerals for a period of six months; after which, assessment of children’s progress with regard to their health and wellness will be conducted. The feeding program also includes as beneficiaries malnourished pregnant women and lactating mothers.

The movie is a good treat for the soul and its proceeds to help nurture the bodies of our poor children and mothers.

Students, as well as parents and teachers and those working in public and private offices are most welcome to watch this movie and help our malnourished children grow like normal people.